Product Range


How to find us

Contact us

Back to index

The Heckelphon

The Heckelphon which resembles the oboe in its construction but is, however, twice as large, stands in C and is notated in the violin clef, however, it sounds one octave deeper. Its deepest tone is the notated a, that sounds like an A.

Because of its strongly conical bore and the spherical sound bell the Heckelphon has a rich sonorous but also pleasing tone.

The sound, flourishing and rich of harmonious tones as well as baritone-masculine sounds, which gives creates the impression of listening to a human voice, is soft and charming at the same time.

The idea to create this instrument was initiated by Richard Wagner, who suggested at the occasion of a visit of Wilhelm Heckel in 1879:

".... A sound factor of the kind of double reed instruments was missing, which was one octave lower than the oboe; the instrument should combine the character of the oboe with the soft, however, powerful sound of the Alpenhorn....."

Many years passed until the first Heckelphon was presented to the public in 1904 in the "Villa Wahnfried" of Bayreuth. Until this moment the attempts to create a oboe in the baritone register were not crowned with too much success. Because of the enlargement of the diapason and the spherical sound bell of the Heckelphon an instrument was created that was suitable for the use in the orchestra with respect to its sound, intonation and expressiveness.

The standard version comprises a full conservatory finger position system with trills for F#/G#,C#/D#,cē/dē,h/c# and as/b as well as rubber rollers on C and Es for the right small finger.

Three "S"-bocals of different length facilitate the individual tuning of the instrument.

Wir über uns

Produktpalette
Heckelphon
Fagott
Kontrafagott
Crest
Zubehör

Unser Service

Wegweiser


Kontakt

Zurück zur Übersicht

Das Heckelphon

In seiner, der Oboe ähnelnden, aber doppelt so großen Bauart, steht das Heckelphon in C und wird im Violinschlüssel notiert, klingt aber eine Oktave tiefer. Sein tiefster Ton ist das notierte a, klingend A.

Durch seine stark konische Bohrung und den kugeligen Schallbecher, verfügt das Heckelphon über einen üppig-sonoren - aber doch lieblichen - Ton.

Der blühend obertonreiche sowie baritonal-männliche Klang, der glauben läßt, eine menschliche Stimme zu hören, ist weich und anmutend zugleich.

Die Anregung zum Bau dieses Instrumentes gab Richard Wagner, der bei einem Besuch von Wilhelm Heckel im Jahre 1879 sagte:

".... Ein Klangfaktor in der Gattung der Doppelrohrblattinstrumente fehle, welcher eine Oktave tiefer als die Oboe stehe; das Instrument müsse den Charakter der Oboe mit dem weichen, aber mächtigen Klang des Alpenhorns verbinden....."

Viele Jahre vergingen, bis 1904 das erste Heckelphon in der Bayreuther "Villa Wahnfried" dem Publikum vorgestellt wurde. Bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt waren die Versuche, eine Oboe in der Baritonlage zu schaffen, von weniger großem Erfolg gekrönt. Durch die Erweiterung der Mensur und den kugeligen Schallbecher des Heckelphons, entstand ein Instrument, das in Bezug auf Klang, Intonation und Ausdrucksstärke für den Orcherstergebrauch geeignet war.

Die Standart Ausführung umfaßt ein Voll-Conservatoriums-Griffsystem mit Triller für F#/G#,C#/D#,c²/d²,h/c# und as/b sowie Kautschukrollen an C und Es für den rechten kleinen Finger.

Drei "S"-Bogen in unterschiedlicher Länge, ermöglichen ein individuelles Einstimmen des Instrumentes.